Posted by: Madhavi CN | July 24, 2011

Juneeta Smiles

This is a poem I wrote today on what all makes my little daughter Juneeta smile:

 

Juneeta Smiles

 

I smile,
When I want to bat again ‘n’ my brother doesn’t fight

I smile,
When my mom gives a hug that is warm and tight
 
I smile,
When all my spellings in Monday test are right

I smile,
When my friend gives a yummy toffee to bite

I smile,
When I break something but dad says it is alright

I smile,
When I can stay up longer than 9 in the night

I smile,
When I can watch TV more as there is none in sight

I smile,
When the kite race is on and stongest is my kite

I smile,
When doctor says give her food that is only light

I smile,
When I can reach the candy jar b’coz of my height

I smile,
When friends look at my bandaids and go ‘wow’ at the sight 

I smile,
When uncle says he will gift me a space ship or satellite

I smile,
When Mita ma’m pats me and says I am such a delight

I smile,
When my vacation to ‘whereever’ is by flight

I smile,
When I get sister’s NEW shoes as she finds them tight

I smile,
When ma’m gives me a star for whatever I write

I smile,
When I am the only one who knows pencils have graphite

I smile,
When aunt says she never saw a child so polite

I smile,
When I get to play, not the dwarf, but Snow White!

I smile,
When I learn to open the POGO website

I smile,
When I can jump into the puddle with all my might

I smile,
When grandpa says I am cute and bright

I smile,
When none asks me rhymes to recite

I smile,
When I say “boo” and all get the fright

I smile,
When mom tells me a story by the moonlight

I smile,
When Santa comes not on Christmas but tonight

Responses

  1. I smile,
    When Juneeta says ‘abbaa meeraymee abaddaalu aadakandi’

  2. Actually, it is ‘abbaa meeraymee abaddalu cheppakandi’


Leave a Reply

Categories